Red Bull Der lange Weg2018-04-25T14:47:42+00:00

RED BULL – DER LANGE WEG

The world’s longest ski tour

The crossing of the Alps from Vienna to Nice in 36 days | March 17 to April 22, 2018

Der lange Weg 2018 | The analysis

In 36 days on skis across the Alps.

Heli Putz
Heli PutzTeamleder & organizer
Safety was always key: for example, the athletes had to break off the ascent of the highest mountain in the Alps, the Mont Blanc (4,810 m), only 100 vertical metres below the summit due to high avalanche risk. The planned climb of the Dufourspitze (4,634 m) was also not possible. Among the alpine highlights was the successful summit ascent of the Grossglockner (3,798 m).
Red Bull Der Lange Weg was inspired by four Austrian ski mountaineers. Robert Kittl, Klaus Hoi, Hansjörg Farbmacher and Hans Mariacher mastered the route in 1971 with only one support man in a VW bus, Alois Schett. The five athletes did not pass all peaks and valley locations of the 1971 team.

Common decisions and experiences bonded the team, which had originally consisted of seven individual athletes, more closely together during the course of the tour. Two of the athletes who’d started in Reichenau an der Rax had to retire on their way to Nice for different reasons. Nuria Picas (ESP), one of the most successful ultra-trail runners in the world, and South Tyrolean alpinist Tamara Lunger (ITA). The five athletes the did complete were all the more proud when they arrived on the beach of Nice.

With her impressive performance, Janelle Smiley showed that not only physical conditioning played a big part, but also tactics, mental strength and team spirit.

Bernhard Hug

“It was really tough,” Hug admitted in Nice. “Every day, you had to recharge your energy to re-focus and move forward step by step. These 14-hour days cost a lot of physical energy. And we had to adapt the route very often and to reorganise again and again because the weather was very difficult. This took a lot of mental energy. But now, we are relieved that we made it!”

Redbullderlangeweg Saas Fee
Redbullderlangeweg

David Wallmann

“The biggest challenge was certainly the bad weather, which made life difficult for us almost every day,” Wallmann said. “Actually, only on the previous days we were finally rewarded by some sunshine for all the stresses and strains.”

Philipp Reiter

“We were 36 days on the road, we were stuck in a blizzard at 3,700m, we rode in knee-deep spring-snow, and now we’re at the beach, this is totally crazy,” Reiter recalled. “I still can’t believe we really made it. It was damn far, it was pretty hard, but that doesn’t matter any more, because we’re here now!”

Redbullderlangeweg Nizza

The Expedition on Instagram.

Experience the expedition on Instagram.

Der lange Weg | NEWS BLOG

The daily stages on our news blog.

RedBullDerlangeWeg – Finish in Nice

Red Bull | Der lange Weg: 22.04.2018 - Finish in Nice The team "Red Bull der lange Weg" reaches the finish in Nice after 36 days Videos | Outdoor Leadership #redbullderlangeweg https://ww [...]

Video #redbullderlangeweg

36 days. 1,721 km. 89.644 vertical meters and 375 hours of movement, movement, movement. Janelle Smiley, Mark Smiley Bernhard Hug, Philipp Reiter & amp; David Wallmann are super-humans and have written their own story on their journey through the Alps.

36 days. 1.721 km. 89.644 meters of elevation gain and 375 hrs of moving, moving, moving. Janelle Smiley, Mark Smiley Bernhard Hug, Philipp Reiter & David Wallmann are super humans and wrote their own history on their journey through the Alps. #redbullderlangeweg 🎥: Timeline Production

Gepostet von Red Bull Adventure am Montag, 23. April 2018

The athletes

Last Projects

Contact Info

Outdoor Leadership, Steinach 4, 4822 Bad Goisern

Phone: +43 6135 6058

Mobile: +43 664 231 48 24

Web: OL Outdoor Leadership

Latest News

Red Bull Der lange Weg2018-04-25T14:38:16+00:00

RED BULL – DER LANGE WEG

Die längste Skitour der Welt

Die Alpenüberquerung von Wien nach Nizza in 36 Tagen | 17. März bis 22. April 2018

Der lange Weg 2018 | Die Analyse

In 36 Tagen auf Skiern über den Alpenhauptkamm.

Heli Putz
Heli PutzTeamleiter & Organisator
Sicherheit stand immer im Vordergrund. So mussten die Sportler beispielsweise die Besteigung des höchsten Bergs der Alpen, des Mont Blanc (4810 m), nur hundert Höhenmeter unterhalb des Gipfels wegen zu hohen Lawinenrisikos abbrechen; auch die geplante Besteigung der Dufourspitze (4634 m) war nicht möglich. Zu den alpinen Highlights zählte die erfolgreiche Gipfelbesteigung des Großglockner (3798 m).
Inspiriert war Red Bull Der Lange Weg von den vier österreichischen Skibergsteigern Robert Kittl, Klaus Hoi, Hansjörg Farbmacher und Hans Mariacher, welche die Route 1971 mit nur einem Supportmann im VW Bus, Alois Schett, bezwungen hatten. Alle Gipfel und Talorte des damaligen Teams konnten leider nicht passiert werden.

Gemeinsame Entscheidungen und Erlebnisse schweißten das Team, das ursprünglich aus sieben Individualsportlern bestand, im Laufe der Tour immer stärker zusammen.

Zwei der in Reichenau an der Rax gestarteten Athletinnen mussten auf dem Weg nach Nizza aus unterschiedlichen Gründen aufgeben: Nuria Picas (ESP), eine der erfolgreichsten Ultratrail-Läuferinnen der Welt, und die Südtiroler Alpinistin Tamara Lunger.

Umso stolzer waren die fünf Athleten, als sie nun am Strand von Nizza ankamen.

Janelle Smiley (USA) zeigt mit ihrer enormen Leistung, dass nicht nur die physischen Voraussetzungen eine große Rolle spielen, sondern auch Taktik, mentale Stärke und Teamgeist.

Red Bull Der Lange Weg – ein Abenteuer, von dem die beteiligten Athleten noch ihren Enkeln erzählen werden! Und eine Geschichte, die sie selbst geschrieben haben.

Bernhard Hug

„Es war schon hart“, sagt Bernhard Hug in Nizza. „Du musst jeden Tag wieder Energie aufbringen, um dich neu zu konzentrieren und Schritt für Schritt weiterzukommen. Die 14-Stunden-Tage haben viel körperliche Energie gekostet. Und wir mussten sehr viel anpassen, immer wieder reorganisieren, weil das Wetter sehr schwierig war. Das braucht sehr viele mentale Energie. Daher ist die Erlösung sehr groß, dass wir es geschafft haben!“

Redbullderlangeweg Saas Fee
Redbullderlangeweg

David Wallmann

„Die größte Herausforderung war sicher das schlechte Wetter, das uns fast tagtäglich das Leben schwer gemacht hat“, sagte David Wallmann. „Eigentlich wurden wir erst am Schluss mit Sonnenschein für die Strapazen belohnt.“

Philipp Reiter

„Jetzt waren wir 36 Tage unterwegs, waren auf 3700 Metern im Schneesturm festgesteckt, sind dann bis zu den Knien im Sulz gesteckt, und jetzt sind wir am Meer – das ist total irre“, blickte Philipp Reiter zurück. „Ich kann es noch gar nicht glauben, dass wir es wirklich geschafft haben. Es war verdammt weit, es war ziemlich hart, und das ist alles jetzt egal, weil wir sind jetzt da!“

Redbullderlangeweg Nizza

Die Expedition auf Instagram.

Die Expedition auf  Instagram erleben.

Der lange Weg | NEWS BLOG

Die Tagesetappen auf unserem News Blog.

RedBullDerlangeWeg – Zielankunft in Nizza

Red Bull | Der lange Weg: 22.04.2018 - Zielankunft in Nizza Das Team "Red Bull der Lange Weg" erreicht das Ziel in Nizza nach 36 Tagen Videos | Outdoor Leadership #redbullderlangeweg http [...]

Video #redbullderlangeweg

36 Tage. 1,721 km. 89.644 Höhenmeter und 375 Stunden Bewegung, Bewegung, Bewegung. Janelle Smiley, Mark Smiley Bernhard Hug, Philipp Reiter & David Wallmann sind Supermenschen und haben auf ihrer Reise durch die Alpen ihre eigene Geschichte geschrieben.

36 days. 1.721 km. 89.644 meters of elevation gain and 375 hrs of moving, moving, moving. Janelle Smiley, Mark Smiley Bernhard Hug, Philipp Reiter & David Wallmann are super humans and wrote their own history on their journey through the Alps. #redbullderlangeweg 🎥: Timeline Production

Gepostet von Red Bull Adventure am Montag, 23. April 2018

Die Athleten

Neueste Projekte

Kontakt Info

Outdoor Leadership, Steinach 4, 4822 Bad Goisern

Telefon: +43 6135 6058

Handy: +43 664 231 48 24

Webseite: OL Outdoor Leadership

Aktuelle News